The big one?

8 October 2019.

An interesting thing happened a couple days ago. I made this ink sketch of cyclists who’d made it to the top of a steep climb and were checking out the view from above. I’ve been wanting to work on a large painting for a while now, but haven’t had anything I felt strongly enough about. But I like this composition. It’s gotten stuck in my head.

My gym is unusual: in addition to barbells, the walls are covered with paintings – the collection is superb, actually. One painting catches my eye every time I work out. There are fields of burnt orange and olive greens and putty, just sort of smudged around the canvas. It left enough of an impression on me that I decided to sort of scrape color over this sketch. (Digitally scrape color – I didn’t want to destroy the original drawing.) And I kind of dig the direction this is headed. This could be the big one.

Stay tuned.

3 comments

  1. Michael Scandling · October 9, 2019

    It’s a great subject, obviously close to your heart. The colors and composition are spectacular. Interesting that you worked in traditional media and then scraped the color digitally. Truly mixed media then.

  2. Hummingbird · October 13, 2019

    Ooh! I love it when my artistic fire is burning. I think all artists do. Good luck! It is an interesting peice.

  3. Hummingbird · October 13, 2019

    Piece… 😄

Leave a comment