Eclectic Cafe

16 November, 2016. You heard it here first: I love the funky little hippy joints, those hole-in-the-wall places with both eclectic people and food. OK, most of these places are populated with folks in search of coffee and an endearing seat in which to enjoy their cup. Personally, I hate the stuff, but the places themselves are great for observing a diverse populace.

Keeping things loose – especially the application of paint – is the best part of these sketches for me. After nearly four decades of splashing watercolor around on paper, I finally feel like the paint isn’t fighting with me. Too, the earth tone pigment of the inked line work seems to hold things together, the warmth is much less harsh than the black I use when I sketch with brush pens. (Lamy Safari medium nib fountain pen, Noodler’s Ink (Beaver), watercolor wash, on Strathmore Aquarius II watercolor paper.)

Leave a Reply

