Tweed Ride 2016

5 October, 2016. This year’s Tweed Ride was fun, but just a wee bit disappointing. Why? Well, I sure wish there had been more vintage bikes on hand – other than my own, of course. Modern bikes and dress up. Hmmm.

I do look forward to this event though. It’s fun to get out and ride one of my vintage bikes, get all duded up in something resembling period attire, and join a group of others of similar mind. This annual ride is sort of turning into a hip, fashiony event. But still cool. Folks are out on bikes, enjoying themselves and the day.

My bike of choice today was a 1946 Hobbs of Barbican. It’s a fixed wheel time trial bike. Staying true to the form of the time I was dressed head to toe in black as British time trialists would have done in the 30’s and 40’s. (An alpaca jacket would have been required – which I don’t have. Fortunately, it was a warm day so no harm, no foul.)

I arrived early, hoping to get in some sketching. Unfortunately, I found out the damn ink was running low in my pen.

Well crap. Guess I’ll just ride my bike.

(Pentel Pocket Brush Pen in Canson 180 sketchbook; Kansas City, Missouri.)

2 comments

  1. Andy Hollar · November 6, 2016

    My daughter was on the Tweed Ride and I would love to buy here one of your great sketches. Is that possible and how do I proceed?

    Andy Hollar

    • azorch · November 6, 2016

      Andy, you can contact me at azorch@sbcglobal.net. I don’t sell the originals because they are bound into a sketchbook, but signed prints are available for $25.

Leave a Reply

