Fall has arrived.

30 October, 2016. Fall is official. The leaves are falling. The air is cool (at least for today, anyway…the rest of this week promises to be unseasonably warm.) The oak mites are in full force.

I’ve been enjoying a three day weekend, and with a busy week of teaching headed my way it was important for me to squeeze in a few minutes of sketchbook time.

Heading out by bike to soak up the sweater weather, I tossed a sketchbook and Pentel Pocket Brush Pen into my bag. I intentionally kept things simple to avoid any temptation to overwork the drawings. Sketch it, ink it, next.

There’s a somewhat Zen-like moment in the sketchbook, when I establish an inner peace and calm. The world tends to otherwise disappear. Nothing else matters except the stroke of the brush.

Pentel Pocket Brush Pen in Canson 180 sketchbook, rural Clay County, Missouri.

Leave a Reply

