Shopping and Sketching

10 April, 2016. I needed some cooking spices anyway, so yesterday morning I headed out to the City Market for a combination shopping/sketching trip. Sketching people in action involves an almost stalker-like approach: scribble out the gesture as quickly as possible, then sit and fill in the details of the figure from memory after they’ve moved on, and hope they wander within eyesight again as the sketch progresses. Local details get added in a bit more leisurely process, but in these cases I needed to keep the simplicity and scribbled line to remain in context with the scribbled figure drawings. (City Market, Kansas City, Lamy Safari Medium Nib, approximately 5 x 7 inches.)

This is the only sketch of the bunch from this outing where I bothered to use my graphite holder to sketch in the gesture first. I know better – I really, really do – but trying to pencil it out and then ink it in…well, there simply isn’t enough time. I can tell just by looking that the figure doesn’t have the same energy as the others I drew with my Lamy Safari directly. And that’s a shame too, because this woman, walking about with her enormous Union Jack-decorated back pack, really fascinated me.  (City Market, Kansas City, Lamy Safari Medium Nib, approximately 5 x 7 inches.)

This is another sketch that I like, even though the woman was drawn so fast that she comes off looking more like a teenager. I like the setting immensely, though. (City Market, Kansas City, Lamy Safari Medium Nib, approximately 5 x 7 inches.)

I feel certain this old guy was aware he was being sketched, even though I was thirty feet away and trying like crazy to be invisible. This was the only brush pen sketch I made because he was under the awning and sitting in the open end of his cargo truck waiting for customers. Sadly, he didn’t get a single buyer the entire time I sketched him. I used the brush pen because I wanted to heighten the contrast in the drawing to better represent how the light was just sort of peeking through a few places under the awning.(City Market, Kansas City, Pentel Pocket Brush Pen, approximately 5 x 7 inches.)

Leave a Reply

