Nope. Not happening for me.

9 April, 2016. Yet another brush pen that I don’t like – the Faber-Castell Pitt artist pen. Sure it’s waterproof and sure it’s permanent, archival ink. And sure I was a little jazzed about working with a sepia ink. But after everything is said and done, this “brush pen” amounts to nothing more than a glorified marker. The “brush” itself has absolutely no give and there’s almost no variety of line weight. Deal breaker. Frankly, I can get pretty much the same marks with an Ultra Fine Tip Sharpie, and spend a whole lot less on a decidedly more durable point.

This pen is one in a kit of four that I was going to test out as a candidate for my drawing students to use, the other three pens being a range of point sizes. After trying out the standard points and determining these didn’t really offer much of an advantage over other similar sketching pens, I put the kit away. Months later I came across the kit while digging through a flat file drawer. Realizing I hadn’t tried out the brush-tipped marker, I pulled it out with every intention of putting it through it’s paces. And naturally enough, the damn thing has been gathering dust on my drawing table for another couple of months. Figuring it was time to use it or stow it, I made a quick sketch this morning, and reached the immediate decision to donate the Faber-Castell Pitt artist pen to a student. I don’t want to use it again and I certainly don’t want it cluttering up my drawer. Perhaps one my kids will have a better experience with it.

Leave a Reply

