Gnarly Tree

15 February, 2016. Oh my gosh, what a beautiful afternoon, especially for the middle of February! It’s President’s Day so no school today either, which made it a perfect opportunity to head out for a couple of hours of bike sketching.

I really enjoy inking trees and limbs entirely freehand, without the safety net of penciled construction lines. My greatest difficulty was simply choosing which trees to draw. It seemed like every bend I’d ride around would yield an abundance of subject matter! I finally stopped to sit and watch for eagles at the end of a particularly pleasant point on the lake. I’d spotted a single bald eagle right less than five minutes from my car earlier, but there were no more to be seen after that. I satisfied myself by using my break to sketch out this gnarly tree, then hopped on my bike and continued on my merry way. (Just outside Smithville, Missouri; Pentel Pocket Brush Pen in Canson 180 sketchbook.)

Leave a Reply

