Day at the Museum.

22 February 2015. The day is cold. I’ve tried to sketch outside, but nothing doing so I head to the museum. I didn’t feel like drawing architecture anyway, and this gave me the opportunity to rough out some figure studies. Speaking of rough, I always need a little warmup to keep my people sketches from being too literal and stiff and – well, rough. Pilot Varsity pen in Canson sketchbook. Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City, Missouri.

____________________________________

I tried to locate a decent vantage point to sketch the water tower yesterday and completely failed. Today I returned, found a slightly better spot, got it sketched out – and then discovered I was trespassing. Well, it was too damn cold to be drawing out of doors anyhow!

 

Leave a Reply

