Taking a break on the bridge.

10 June, 2014.

Graphite, pan watercolors, rigger and #8 round sable. (8 x 5 inches)

I worked on location, but since I used a photo reference of myself (my iPhone), I can’t really count this as a true “urban sketch.” I’m good with that.

It’s an overcast morning, but all color seems to “pop” in the subdued morning light. The bridge seems a good stopping point, even though mine is far from a long ride on this day. I pause to take in the scene: the sound of birds seems to me to herald a coming sun that – alas! – was not to be. It is, nevertheless, a comforting thought because it’s rather cool, humid, and dreary beyond the bridge.

Leave a Reply

