Old St. James

20 July, 2014. I got a wild hair this morning and decided to take along a larger block of watercolor paper. Kind of silly, really. I knew it would be cumbersome. I knew the pen didn’t like the paper very much. I knew the place I wanted to sketch was a five minute ride from the house – and that I would be traveling on afterwards for at least another twenty miles. I knew that I would probably only sketch it out in ink and then add color later. I knew the watercolor kit would stay in my bag the whole time. Nevertheless, here’s the sketch: blocked in with Lamy pen in the field, hauled around on my bike for a couple of hours, and colored later on in the afternoon. (Liberty, Missouri. This is the old St James Catholic Church building; now a bed and breakfast.)

Leave a Reply

