Windy day

I rode off into the hills early yesterday afternoon to get in a few hours of exercise and to enjoy the (relatively) nice weather. It’s still early in the season and my “hill legs” have atrophied somewhat after a winter of lethargic television watching, so I was looking forward to coming back down to the river bottom farmlands to enjoy a nice ten mile section of flat road. Alas! It was not the relaxing ride I sought! Flying down a long, steep hill, I came around the final turn that exposed me to the farmland adjacent to the Missouri River. There – with no windbreaks or trees or anything else to interfere – the headwinds hit me full on, and my speed dropped decisively. It was here, I decided, that I would stop to sketch for a while. (Rural Clay County, Missouri)

Leave a Reply

