Student of the world


Many of my students and patrons have asked me where my ideas come from. I like to believe I’m a student of the world around me; I unconsciously doodle on any scrap of paper that happens to be at hand and I seldom feel obliged to make a “photographic” representation; rather I enjoy trying to sketch the mood or quality of the moment. Presented here are pages from my travel sketchbooks, those many ubiquitous Moleskins I carry with me nearly everywhere.

With few exceptions, I will try to keep my sketches fresh by putting pen to paper without the “safety net” of a pencil sketch.

Leave a Reply

